Guest reviews

Your opinions matter to us!

  • Outstanding hotel

    This hotel is the best I have ever stayed at.
    It is absolutely superb.
    Rooms are excellent and restaurants amazing(one has a Michelin star)
    Service is impeccable.
    We stayed 4 nights on way

    Richard T, from TripAdvisor May 23, 2017
  • Can I give it six stars

    After recently staying at LeDomaine, I now have a revised concept of what luxury is. Wish I could give this hotel six stars;) Luxury here is in the experience: History, architectural

    PW1986, From TripAdvisor Apr 09, 2017
  • Uno de los Mejores Hoteles del Mundo

    Dentro de una antigua abadía que perteneció a los monjes Premostratenses, primeros en elaborar vino en la ribera del duero, se encuentra este hotel-Bodega, propiedad de los famosos laboratorios Novartis. El hotel

    Letritas, From TripAdvisor Apr 07, 2017
  • This was superb

    This was a superb stay, attentive genuine staff that take time and care with every aspect of your stay. We had a last minute change and opted to stay here they accommodated all of our needs. Rooms were gorgeous,

    bournville773, From Tripadvisor Dec 21, 2016
  • Great Luxury

    We stayed here two nights and will definitely return for a longer stay. This is the most luxurious place I have stayed at. from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are treated like royalty. We ate

    Jarb46, from Tripadvisor Nov 05, 2016
  • Una estancia inolvidable y excepcional

    Buscábamos un lugar único para celebrar en pareja nuestras bodas de plata y no pudimos elegir mejor. Toda la estancia fue espectacular. desde el momento en que haces la reserva, se empieza a cuidar hasta el mínimo

    Teresafr, from tripadvisor Oct 27, 2016
  • El mejor hotel hasta la fecha

    La experiencia en este hotel es de otro planeta, ya no sólo por el concepto de lujo sobrio sino por el exquisito trato al cliente. Cada habitación cuenta con un mayordomo a su servicio

    helenrodry, from Tripadvisor Jul 11, 2016
  • Personalización de la estancia

    En un entorno extraordinario hemos recibido una atención personalizada inusual,cordialidad,eficiencia,proximidad y discreción. Los servicios excelentes los complementos y los pequeños y constantes obsequios a

    R6329MWluisf from Tripadvisor May 02, 2016
  • Best hotel experience inside and outside Spain!

    First-class service. Superb installations, particularly the spa. Exquisite taste in the restoration of the Abbey and interior decor of the hotel. El Refrectorio worthy of more than one Michelin star but be wary

    James P, from Tripadvisor Apr 24, 2016
  • Experiencia sensacional

    He estado recientemente con motivo de una reunión de trabajo y la experiencia ha sido sensacional. El marco es idóneo, las instalaciones de altísimo nivel pero sin estridencias, todo funcionando a la perfección,

    Adiell, from Tripadvisor Apr 18, 2016
  • Pure relaxation

    We stayed here just because the hotel very close to this one (they claimed to be a five star hotel) was absolutely not acceptable. So just by chance we found this one and stayed even two days longer than we wanted

    Max2MS, from Tripadvisor Jan 01, 2016
  • A very special place

    Abadia Retuerta will always be a particularly special place for us as I chose to propose to my girlfriend here! The staff were all incredibly supportive, the location was perfect and the hotel is perhaps the most

    Badger885, from Tripadvisor Nov 29, 2015
  • Очараовательно

    Это первый визит в Le Domaine, новый и красивый Спа, сотрудники очень вежливы! они заставили нас чувствовать себя, как будто они здесь только для нас! эТО ОЧЕНЬ ПРИЯТНО.Номера очень чистые, удобные ,комфортные

    Kris0608, from Tripadvisor Apr 17, 2016
  • Ausgezeichnetes Hotel in einer tollen Weinregion

    Dieses Relais Châteaux-Hotel liegt am Duero und ist 2 Std von Madrid entfernt. Das renovierte Kloster wurde wunderbar umgebaut. Zimmer sind sehr schön und das Hotelpersonal aussergewöhnlich aufmerksam. Eine Topadresse

    Nathalie, from Tripadvisor Jun 02, 2015
  • Outstanding hotel

    This hotel is the best I have ever stayed at.
    It is absolutely superb.
    Rooms are excellent and restaurants amazing(one has a Michelin star)
    Service is impeccable.
    We stayed 4 nights on way from Bilbao to Madrid.
    Located in their own 700ha estate with over 200ha of vineyards.
    Their wine is excellent.
    Well worth staying at.

    Richard T, from TripAdvisor, Dublin, Irlanda May 23, 2017
  • Can I give it six stars

    After recently staying at LeDomaine, I now have a revised concept of what luxury is. Wish I could give this hotel six stars;) Luxury here is in the experience: History, architectural beauty, attention to detail, spaciousness, tranquility, vineyard views, spa perfection, and Michelin-star cuisine. The location just near the banks of the Duero River and the scenario as you approach the long driveway to the hotel, lined with pinyon pine trees and the vineyard, is absolutely lovely. The hotel's historical setting (12th century abbey, immaculately restored) and sophisticated, modern touches blend seamlessly. The service here is unparalleled, too: Only 30 rooms in this hotel, but the staff-to-guest ratio is something like 3 to 1. Butlers in tailored suits are attentive and professional, and if you don't see one, they're only a phone call or a text message away on the personal mobile phone you get in your room and can take anywhere on premise (I used it a couple of times with success). Even the arrival process is elegant; you're greeted with a steaming towel, and room check-in is personalized, as your personal butler accompanies you to your room (mine was Juan Pablo, a Valladolid native; excellent). Rooms have original Miró lithographs, Italian oak floors, and plenty of windows with expansive, serene views of vineyard with mountains in the distance. Even the bathrooms have a window with this gorgeous view. Added touches like L'Occitane pillow mist, a small bedside flashlight, turn-down treats such as toasted walnuts, and bathroom incense, replenished each day, are lovely enhancements. Bed and pillows of course are quite comfortable, and the large bathroom features a soaking tub, walk-in shower and Anne Semonin toiletries. Also, since the bathroom is one step up, an illuminated step helps a lot (with no city lights outside, rooms are wonderfully dark.)
    Breakfast: There's room service, but I didn't try it. Since I was here on a business trip, my colleagues and I met for breakfast in the Refectorio, the monks' refectory in medieval times, with high ceilings, frescoes on the walll, lots of light, and a personalized newspaper at your spot just moments after you sit down (in your native language, and with your name on the front). The maitre d'hotel, Alberto, is delightful and remembers what guests like. Order almond milk with your cereal one day, and he'll remember that the next day (in my case, he also had two bottles of almond milk sent up to my mini-bar for me to use with my in-room Nespresso. That is hospitality!) The breakfast here is not a gargantuan buffet like you see at many 5-star hotels, but you will lack nothing. Healthy choices, egg dishes, cheese platters with those divine toasted walnuts, bread and croissant baskets with locally-made honey, eggs benedict, and plenty of other made-to-order dishes make this the best hotel breakfast possible, in my opinion.

    The Refectorio by night is a superb restaurant, where Michelin starred chef Marc Segarra's creations shine. I loved the 3-D cheese cube, among many other things. Sommelier Mickey is also excellent. The more informal restaurant on premise is Vinoteca, with popular Spanish fare such as croquetas, pan con tomate with jamón, cecina, arroz meloso, great salads, etc. and the Abadia Retuerta pine nuts, honey and wine salts are also features. You're once again taken warmly attentive care of by maitre Alberto and the rest of the top-notch servers in Vinoteca.

    Our business meeting while here also included a cocktail party in the Cueva and a private dinner by candelight with live flamenco show in the church which dates to 1147(!). The place lends itself perfectly to private events, meetings and incentive programs.

    Activities and facilities: I always use gyms, pools and spas when I travel, and I got plenty of use of these here. For being a 12th century bldg, the gym was pretty modern, and also located very conveniently near the guest rooms. Saw a yoga session taking place in the adjoining yoga/Pilates room, but did not personally use that part. Used the spa and pool area often, and loved that it opens as early as 7:30 a.m. Facilities are pristine, and kept so clean that you feel like you're the only one who's ever used the place. The water in the whirlpool and pool is purified perfection (see photos).
    As for spa services you can book, I tried the Grand Cru treatment (you select your own aromatherapy oils) and on another day had the very best facial in my entire life, by a woman named Paqui. I will return and repeat this for sure.

    Activities: Did the Abadia Retuerta winery tour in a 4x4 followed by the wine tasting (a must, of course--it's outstanding and impressive) as well as an excursion to the city of Valladolid, about a half-hour away.
    Also took a morning cooking class that the hotel offers, given by its Michelin starred chef de cuisine together with the sous-chef and pastry chef; we learned 3 dishes and got print-outs of the recipes. Quite a privilege.

    For relaxing and hanging out, there are comfortable salons; my favorite place was the library room with fire in the fireplace (adjoining bar with bartender service). There was cold weather and even snowfall dusting the vines when I was just there, so the fireplace room was ideal; in nicer weather, the courtyards.

    In summary: Absolutely loved this hotel, where service, spaciousness, setting and peacefulness are luxuries which make you feel like a queen or king. I'd recommend it for leisure (couples, solo travel, getaway with friends), wine tourism (it's on the golden mile of a cluster of wineries in the D.O. Ribera del Duero), meeting and business travel. Price-value ratio is very good, too. I've paid much more for hotels that don't even come close to this experiential luxury.

    How to get here: Rental car is ideal, but another great option if you don't want to drive is to take the AVE high speed train from Madrid, then taxi from Valladolid. You can also book transportation through the hotel, and one of the butlers will pick you up at Barajas Airport (it's about a 2.5 hour drive).
    PW1986, From TripAdvisor, Chicago, Ilinois Sep 04, 2017
  • Uno de los Mejores Hoteles del Mundo

    Dentro de una antigua abadía que perteneció a los monjes Premostratenses, primeros en elaborar vino en la ribera del duero, se encuentra este hotel-Bodega, propiedad de los famosos laboratorios Novartis. El hotel está perfectamente integrado en la abadía, con un precioso claustro y alberga el Restaurante El Refectorio con una estrella Michelín, que se come extraordinariamente. La estancia es inolvidable.

    Letritas, From TripAdvisor, Spain Jul 04, 2017
  • This was superb

    This was a superb stay, attentive genuine staff that take time and care with every aspect of your stay. We had a last minute change and opted to stay here they accommodated all of our needs. Rooms were gorgeous, fabulous spa, wonderful wines and impeccable service. Right from arrival at the door to departure. The renovation of this property from a former monastery has been done with care, prestige and craftmanship that is stunning. 
    We will be back.

    bournville773, From Tripadvisor, Australia Dec 21, 2016
  • Great Luxury

    We stayed here two nights and will definitely return for a longer stay. This is the most luxurious place I have stayed at. from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are treated like royalty. We ate at both restaurants and both were very good. The wine tour was very interesting and worth taking.

    Jarb46, from Tripadvisor, Puerto Rico Nov 05, 2016
  • Una estancia inolvidable y excepcional

    Buscábamos un lugar único para celebrar en pareja nuestras bodas de plata y no pudimos elegir mejor. Toda la estancia fue espectacular. desde el momento en que haces la reserva, se empieza a cuidar hasta el mínimo detalle. Nuestra habitación, la Master suite, con unas vistas a los viñedos y a la abadía, a la que no le faltaba ni el mínimo detalle, fue un sueño. Enrique, nuestro mayordomo, de un trato exquisito,se preocupó de que absolutamente todo fuera de nuestro agrado. El restaurante El Refectorio fantástico, el desayuno a la carta de una calidad excepcional. Pero sobre todo, lo que uno no puede perderse es el spa y los masajes que ofrecen.
    Francamente, no pudimos haber elegido mejor. Buscábamos un 5 estrellas, diferente, algo realmente digno de recordar y no nos equivocamos.
    Sobran los motivos para repetir!!!

    Teresafr, from tripadvisor, Sevilla, España. Oct 27, 2016
  • El mejor hotel hasta la fecha

    La experiencia en este hotel es de otro planeta, ya no sólo por el concepto de lujo sobrio sino por el exquisito trato al cliente. Cada habitación cuenta con un mayordomo a su servicio y cada momento está lleno de pequeños detalles que marcan la diferencia. Otro punto a destacar es la visita a los viñedos y la posterior cata: pocas veces hemos encontrado a un profesional tan formado y apasionado con su trabajo.
    En definitiva este hotel es un mundo diferente no sólo por su arquitectura austera, alejada del turismo de masas, sino por el ambiente que crea su cuidadísimo trato al cliente.
    helenrodry, from Tripadvisor, La Esperanza, España Nov 07, 2016
  • Personalización de la estancia

    En un entorno extraordinario hemos recibido una atención personalizada inusual,cordialidad,eficiencia,proximidad y discreción. Los servicios excelentes los complementos y los pequeños y constantes obsequios a la altura de los servicios generales. Por trabajo y por placer viajamos bastante.Hace años que no recibiamos un trato tan impecable.

    R6329MWluisf from Tripadvisor, Barcelona, España Feb 05, 2016
  • Best hotel experience inside and outside Spain!

    First-class service. Superb installations, particularly the spa. Exquisite taste in the restoration of the Abbey and interior decor of the hotel. El Refrectorio worthy of more than one Michelin star but be wary of the quantity of food (fixed menus with 9 and 12 dishes). La Vinoteca, also five stars - more casual restaurant. Highly recommend the chuleta de vaca. And don't miss the breakfast - not a buffet for once...!

    James P, from Tripadvisor, United Kingdom Apr 24, 2016
  • Experiencia sensacional

    He estado recientemente con motivo de una reunión de trabajo y la experiencia ha sido sensacional. El marco es idóneo, las instalaciones de altísimo nivel pero sin estridencias, todo funcionando a la perfección, en un entorno de paz y tranquilidad... El servicio difícilmente superable, desviviéndose en todo momento por anticiparse a las necesidades del huésped, muy profesionales, con naturalidad y amabilidad. Sin olvidar la oferta gastronómica; el primer día cené en el restaurante El Refectorio, que no me extrañaría que este año le concedieran una segunda estrella Michelín y, al día siguiente, almorcé en el restaurante Vinoteca, también exquisito.

    Adiell, from Tripadvisor, Sant Cugat, España Apr 18, 2016
  • Pure relaxation

    We stayed here just because the hotel very close to this one (they claimed to be a five star hotel) was absolutely not acceptable. So just by chance we found this one and stayed even two days longer than we wanted just because of the hotel was so nice.
    We traveled through Spain in August and came through Ribera del Duero to visit some bodegas. Our original hotel was very disappointing and so we changed. The food is also very nice in both restaurants. To visit the bodega is also worth it. Maria gave us an excellent tour.
    We will definitely return here.

    Max2MS, from Tripadvisor, Cambridge, United Kingdom Jan 01, 2016
  • A very special place

    Abadia Retuerta will always be a particularly special place for us as I chose to propose to my girlfriend here! The staff were all incredibly supportive, the location was perfect and the hotel is perhaps the most tasteful example of the conversion of a historically important building to a hotel that I have seen. The grounds, the rooms and the restaurant were all stunning and the service is second to none. On top of that, the wine is exceptionally good and they are constructing a spa facility. We will definitely return to this very special place in the future!

    Badger885, from Tripadvisor, London, United Kingdom Nov 29, 2015
  • Очараовательно

    Это первый визит в Le Domaine, новый и красивый Спа, сотрудники очень вежливы! они заставили нас чувствовать себя, как будто они здесь только для нас! эТО ОЧЕНЬ ПРИЯТНО.Номера очень чистые, удобные ,комфортные и тихие. красиво оформленные номера , да и сам отель необыкновенно красив! Это лучший отель!

    Kris0608, from Tripadvisor, Moscú, Russia Apr 17, 2016
  • Ausgezeichnetes Hotel in einer tollen Weinregion

    Dieses Relais Châteaux-Hotel liegt am Duero und ist 2 Std von Madrid entfernt. Das renovierte Kloster wurde wunderbar umgebaut. Zimmer sind sehr schön und das Hotelpersonal aussergewöhnlich aufmerksam. Eine Topadresse um die Weinregion zu geniessen.

    Nathalie, from Tripadvisor, Schüpfen Jun 02, 2015